Skip to main content

Union Members Elected to Local Office Across N.C.

Jeremy Sprinkle
Social share icons

For Immediate Release

Union Members and Other Labor-Endorsed Candidates Win Local Elections Across N.C.

Yvonne Kinston, elected to Fayetteville City Council, one of six union members elected or re-elected to local office, including Braxton Winston II in Charlotte; Union-backed mayors win in Durham, Chapel Hill, and Burlington

(Raleigh, N.C. – November 7, 2019) A result of the NC State AFL-CIO’s efforts to build independent political power for working people across North Carolina, we are thrilled to congratulate union member and first-time candidate for elected office Yvonne Kinston of the Communications Workers of America (CWA) on her election to the Fayetteville City Council! Working people elected or re-elected six union members to local office across North Carolina this year in all, including Braxton Winston II (IATSE) to the Charlotte City Council, Gail Mull (USW) to the Canton Board of Alderman, Rick Russo (IAMAW) to the Harrisburg Town Council, Brian Leonard to the River Bend Town Council, and Travis Summitt (UAW) to the Cleveland Board of Commissioners. There were 305 union-member candidates (and counting) elected to local office across the country on Tuesday.

Congratulations also to Durham Mayor Steve Schewel, Chapel Hill Mayor Pam Hemminger, Burlington Mayor Ian Baltutis, and other victorious labor-endorsed candidates across North Carolina.

Contact: Jeremy Sprinkle, Communications Director, 336-255-2711 / [email protected]


The North Carolina State AFL-CIO is the largest association of unions of working people in North Carolina, representing a hundred and thirty thousand members, working together for good jobs, safe workplaces, workers’ rights, consumer protections, and quality public services on behalf of ALL working people. PO Box 10805, Raleigh, NC 27605.