Skip to main content

2008 C.O.P.E. Endorsements for N.C.

Jeremy Sprinkle
Social share icons

Labor 2008 endorsements

2008 C.O.P.E. Endorsements for N.C.

The AFL-CIO Committee on Political Education has endorsed the following candidates for federal, state, and local office in North Carolina:

President / Vice President
Barack Obama
Joe Biden

U.S. Senate
Kay Hagan

U.S. House
by district:

  1. G.K. Butterfield
  2. Bob Etheridge
  3. -
  4. David Price
  5. Roy Carter
  6. -
  7. Mike McIntyre
  8. Larry Kissell
  9. Harry Taylor
  10. Daniel Johnson
  11. Heath Shuler
  12. Mel Watt
  13. Brad Miller

Bev Perdue

Lt. Governor
Walter Dalton

Attorney General
Roy Cooper

Secretary of State
Elaine Marshall

State Treasurer
Janet Cowell

Labor Commissioner
Mary Fant Donnan

State Auditor
Beth Wood

Insurance Commissioner
Wayne Goodwin

Agriculture Commissioner
Ronnie Ansley

Superintendent of Public Instruction
June St. Clair Atkinson

Supreme Court
Suzanne Reynolds

Court of Appeals
John C. Martin (Martin seat)
Jim Wynn (Wynn seat)
Kristin Ruth (Tyson seat)
Cheri Beasley (McCullough seat)
Linda Stephens (Stephens seat)
John Arrowood (Arrowood seat)

N.C. Senate, N.C. House,district court judges, and other local races - please download the full slate (in Adobe PDF) for the Central Labor Council where you live:

  1. Western NC (Asheville, Hickory)
  2. Triad (Greensboro, Winston-Salem, High Point)
  3. Southern Piedmont (Charlotte, Concord)
  4. Greater Sandhills (Fayetteville)
  5. Triangle (Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill)
  6. Eastern Piedmont (Roanoke Rapids)
  7. Eastern NC (New Bern, Havelock)
  8. Southeastern NC (Wilmington)

Paid for by the AFL-CIO Committee on Political Education Political Contributions Committee,, and not authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee.