Labor Endorsed Candidates Win in Primary

Together, the NC State AFL-CIO and Central Labor Councils endorsed a total of 34 candidates with primary opposition in the May 6 election. Based on unofficial primary results, 79% of our candidates won their primary election.

Nine candidates competed for statewide office, and of that group, 77% will advance to the general election November 4. The remaining 25 labor endorsed candidates competed for local or legislative office, and 80% won their primary.

In the race to be the Democratic nominee for Governor, in which we made no endorsement, Lt. Gov. Bev Perdue defeated Richard Moore 56% to 40%.

Our candidate for Lt. Governor, Hampton Dellinger, lost to Sen. Walter Dalton 34% to 46%.

One candidate, Mary Fant Donnan, will face a runoff election to be the Democratic candidate for Labor Commissioner. As of this writing, who her runoff opponent will be is too close to call.

James Wynn and Kristin Ruth, our candidates for the Court of Appeals, both advanced and will face Jewel Farlow and Sam Ervin IV, respectively, in November.

Congratulations to the Winners

These labor endorsed candidates won their primary (sorted by region, office):

Name Office Region
Wynn, Jim Appellate Judge Statewide
Ruth, Kristin Appellate Judge Statewide
Goodwin, Wayne Commissioner of Insurance Statewide
Donnan, Mary Fant Commissioner of Labor (in runoff) Statewide
Wood, Beth State Auditor Statewide
Cowell, Janet State Treasurer Statewide
Atkinson, June Superintendent of Public Instruction Statewide
Hagan, Kay US Senate Statewide
Mobley, Annie Ward House District 05 E. Pied.
Bryant, Angela R. House District 07 E. Pied.
Warren, Edith D. House District 08 Eastern
Faircloth, Marshall Cumberland CC2 Sandhills
Edge, Kenneth Cumberland CC2 Sandhills
Brisson, William House District 22 Sandhills
Shaw, Larry Senate District 21 Sandhills
Hughes, Sandra Spaulding House District 18 Southeast
DeSheilds, Dorothy New Hanover County Board of Education Southeast
Brewington, Jan New Hanover County Board of Education Southeast
Alston, Skip Guilford CC8 Triad
Dorsett, Katie G. Senate District 28 Triad
Reckhow, Ellen Durham Co Commissioner Triangle
Howerton, Brenda Durham Co Commissioner Triangle
Heron, Becky Durham Co Commissioner Triangle
Bowser, Joe Durham Co Commissioner Triangle
Malone, Vernon Senate District 14 Triangle
Stein, Joshua Senate District 16 Triangle
McKissick, Jr., Floyd B. Senate District 20 Triangle
Kinnaird, Ellie Senate District 23 Triangle