LABOR MOVEMENT UNITED IN OPPOSITION TO 'FAST TRACKING' TRADE DEALS

March 3, 2015

President, BAC

Dear Senators and Representatives:

As the leaders of almost 20 million U.S. workers and their families, we share your commitment to strengthening the middle class. To rebuild our economy for America's hardworking families, we ask you to join us in opposition to "fast track" trade promotion authority (also known as TPA).

Fast track trade deals mean fewer jobs, lower wages, and a declining middle class. Fast track has been used since the Nixon Administration to advance deals, like NAFTA, that are sold to the American people as job creation measures. But these deals, written largely by and for the world's largest corporations, don't create jobs: their main purpose isn't even related to trade, it's to enshrine rules that make it easier for firms to invest offshore and increase corporate influence over the global economy.

Fast track is an undemocratic, unaccountable and completely unacceptable way to develop economic policies that affect us all. America needs a new version of trade negotiating authority that brings the process out from behind closed doors and prioritizes making life better for people, instead of just making life easier for corporations. Working people have heard enough broken promises about the benefits of fast track. It's time to stop believing the fairy tale that passing one more fast track trade deal is going to have different results.

If you stand for higher wages, more jobs, and greater opportunities for America's hardworking families, you must oppose fast track.

Sincerely,

Richard L. Trumka, President, AFL-CIO Elizabeth H. Shuler, Secretary-Treasurer, AFL-CIO Tefere A. Gebre, Executive Vice President, AFL-CIO

J. David Cox President, AFGE	David Durkee President, BCTGM	R. Thomas Buffenbarger President, IAM	James Callahan President, IUOE	Rose Ann DeMoro Executive Director, NNU	William P. Hite General President, UA
Rogelio "Roy" A. Flores National Vice President, AFGE	Jorge Ramirez President, Chicago Federation of Labor	Robert A. Scardelletti President, TCU-IAM	Kenneth Rigmaiden President, IUPAT	Patrick D. Finley President, OPCMIA	Dennis D. Williams President, UAW
,		Matthew Loeb	Terry O'Sullivan	Michael Goodwin	Cindy Estrada
Diann Woodard President, AFSA	Lori Pelletier Executive Secretary-	President, IATSE	General President, LIUNA	President, OPEIU	Vice President, UAW
	Treasurer, Connecticut	Newton B. Jones	John F. Hegarty	Nancy Wohlforth	Douglas J. McCarron
Lee Saunders President, AFSCME	AFL-CIO	President, IBB	National President, NPMHU-LIUNA	Former Secretary- Treasurer, OPEIU	President, UBC
	Clyde Rivers	Edwin D. Hill			Marc Perrone
Laura Reyes Secretary-Treasurer,	Former President, CSEA	President, IBEW	Ron Ault President, MTD	Ken Howard President, SAG-AFTRA	President, UFCW
AFSCME	Larry Cohen	James P. Hoffa		·	Stuart Appelbaum
Randi Weingarten	President, CWA	President, IBT	Sean McGarvey President, NABTU	Mary Kay Henry President, SEIU	President, RWDSU
President, AFT	Sara Nelson	Gregory J. Junemann		···· , · · ·	Cecil Roberts
Lorretta Johnson	President, AFA-CWA	President, IFPTE	Fredric V. Rolando President, NALC	Michael Sacco President, SIU	President, UMWA
Secretary-Treasurer, AFT	Paul Almeida	Harold Daggett			D. Taylor
Timothy Canoll	President, DPE	President, ILA	Paul Rinaldi President, NATCA	Joseph J. Nigro General President, SMART	President, UNITE HERE!
President, ALPA	Baldemar Velasquez	Robert McEllrath			Leo W. Gerard
Mark Dimondstein	President, FLOC	President, ILWU	Bhairavi Desai Executive Director, NTWA	Ed Wytkind President, TTD	President, USW
President, APWU	Bruce R. Smith	James Grogan			Fred Redmond
Lawrence J. Hanley	President, GMP	President, Insulators	Lily Eskelsen Garcia President, NEA	Harry Lombardo President, TWU	Vice President, USW
President, ATU	Harold A. Schaitberger	Walter Wise	-		D. Michael Langford
James Boland President BAC	President, IAFF	President, Ironworkers	DeMaurice Smith Executive Director, NFLPA		National President, UWUA